The Australian education system is a highly-regarded and well-structured system that provides students with a comprehensive and broad education. It is overseen by the Australian government and is divided into three main levels: primary education, secondary education, and tertiary education. 

Primary education typically starts at age five or six and runs for seven or eight years. It is mandatory for all children in Australia to attend school until the age of 16. The primary education curriculum covers a range of subjects, including English, mathematics, science, social studies, health and physical education, and the arts. 

Secondary education typically starts at age 12 or 13 and runs for six years. It is divided into two stages: junior secondary and senior secondary. During junior secondary, students continue to study a broad range of subjects, while senior secondary students typically focus on a smaller number of subjects. At the end of senior secondary, students can sit for the Higher School Certificate (HSC), which is a qualification that is required for entry into many tertiary education courses. 

Tertiary education in Australia includes universities, vocational education and training (VET) institutions, and private colleges. Universities offer undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in a wide range of subjects, while VET institutions provide training in specific vocational areas such as trades, hospitality, and IT. Private colleges offer a diverse range of courses that are not necessarily offered by universities or VET institutions. 

The Australian education system is highly regarded for its quality and innovation. It places a strong emphasis on practical learning and encourages students to take an active role in their education. The government also provides a range of financial support and scholarships to help students access tertiary education.

Want to meet with one of our team members?